Heian Shodan – Peaceful Mind One

Heian Shodan is the first Kata that you will learn when you start your journey with Blackpool Shotokan Karate. Heian Shodan translates from Japanese to English as Peaceful Mind One and is a great introduction to Kata. The Kata itself consists of 21 movements in total and the Karata-ka will be introduced to the following techniques:-

+ Downward blocks
+ Middle level punches
+ Hammer fist strike
+ Rising blocks
+ Knife-hand blocks

In order to progress through the grading system, you will need to perfom Heian Shodan twice, for 9th Kyu ( white and black belt ), you will perform it to count. For 8th Kyu ( yellow belt ) you will perform the kata from start to finish to your own count.